Our upcoming release (v.3.10.2) will contain a complete redesign of the projects-teams selector. To reduce complexity, we've made the selector a part of views (rather than a global setting found on the top bar). It will now be clear if a view is displaying data from the default project-teams selection made by the owner of the view, or data from the projects and teams selected by you.
We made these changes to solve two main issues. The first is that data in views would unexpectedly change because of unintended projects-teams selections. This happened when you navigated through views with and without predefined selections by the view owners. It was sometimes unclear why certain projects and teams were displayed in certain views.
The second issue would occur when users collaborated on views. It was often unclear for users that they were seeing different data than their teammates because they had set a different selection of projects and teams. To fix this, we've made the projects-teams selector as straightforward as we can. You will now always know what data you're looking at on the view and why.
By default, a view will show the selection set by the view owner in View Setup.
You can still make a view display data from any projects and teams that you need to see. When you modify the set of projects and teams shown on the view, the selector will be highlighted.
These changes are applied only for you; other users will still see the view with the predefined projects and teams selected by the view's owner.
Once you set projects and teams for a view, your selection will be saved for that view. You can easily revert back to the predefined selection by clicking the revert button.
If the view's owner hasn't set a projects-teams selection for the view, then the revert action will not work because there is nothing to revert to.
For more information, visit the Project and Teams Selector article in our User Guide.