Show all posts
8 months ago

Deprecating the old Help Desk portal

We released our Help Desk portal back in 2008. It was a great software that allowed external users to submit requests. Years passed, and it became more and more obsolete from both the technical and user perspectives. Rather than wade through technical debt to try and improve it, we released a separate Service Desk application that already has all the functionality of Help Desk, a better UI, and some cool new features such as custom fields and request types.

We probably should have dropped the old Help Desk back in December 2016, when Service Desk was officially out of beta. It's hard to do, since we sort of got attached to it over the years. Nothing lasts forever though, especially in the software business, so it's time to let it go. Apart from the infrastructure costs of hosting both versions of the software, we also have to maintain and update it to keep up with the latest changes in Targetprocess. For example, in our latest release (v.3.11.0) there were some changes to the way user information is stored, and the 'Forgot Password' button stopped working in Help Desk.

We cannot afford to lose focus at this point, so we are freezing the Help Desk and will completely remove it from our On-Demand servers on June 1st, 2017. What does this mean for you? Most likely, nothing new. If you're not using request management, or if you're already using Service Desk, you don't have to do anything. In case you're not sure, here's what Service Desk looks like:

service_desk_plan

If you are still using Help Desk, that means you will have to switch to Service Desk. All you need to do is activate it at Settings -> Service Desk, and all of your requests and projects will automatically transfer over. On-Premises customers can technically continue using the old Help Desk, though we do not see any good reason for it.

We hope you enjoy the new version of the software. If you have any reason you prefer the old one, please let us know.

Farewell, Help Desk. It's time to move on.

  • Marco Aurélio Alves Cordeiro

    Hi!
    Please, what will happen to request and projects that are still on Help Desk (not transfered to Service Desk) on May 31th? They will be lost forever or they will be migrated to Service Desk automatically, even the user didn’t apply for it?
    Thank you!

  • http://targetprocess.com Bogdan Skaskiv

    Hello!
    Projects and requests are stored in Targetprocess database and Service Desk (as well as Help Desk) just connects to the database and uses information stored in there. After May 31st old Help Desk will stop working so you will need to enable Service Desk to continue using this functionality.
    Best regards,
    Bogdan

  • Marco Aurélio Alves Cordeiro

    Hello Bogdan!
    Thank you for your answer. My concern about this is: if an user enable Service Desk after May 31st, they will have access to their old projects and requests, right?
    I just want to be sure about this…
    Thank you!

  • https://www.targetprocess.com/ Julia Pastushenko

    Hi!

    Yes, all the old Projects and Requests will be available in Service Desk and in Targetprocess.
    Both of these portals (Help Desk and Service Desk) only provide UI, so no data will be lost.

    Best wishes,
    Julia.

  • Marco Aurélio Alves Cordeiro

    Ok Julia, thank you very much!
    Regards,
    Marco