Assign People to Projects, Manage Users as Project Members | Targetprocess - Visual management software

Assign People to Projects, Manage Users as Project Members

Targetprocess users receive access to work items through Projects and Teams. In this guide article for administrators and power users we describe how to manage Project membership.

After users are assigned to a Project or Team, they can add, edit, and delete work items according to their Project or Team role. More on this: Permissions for Access to Work Items.

This article describes:

  • how to add a User to a Project
  • how to change Project roles for a User
  • how to unassign a User from a Project

There are detailed recommendations on how to perform these actions effectively and what permissions are required.

How to add a User to a Project

Users assigned to the Project will get access to all entities inside of it.

We assume that you've already created Users and Projects. If not, here's how to create Users and here's how to create Projects.

ActionRequired Permissions (for non-Administrators)
Assign an existing User to a Project'Edit' Project permission in Project Role

'Edit' User permission in Default Role is required additionally for drag-n-drop assignments made on board views

Add a new User to a Project'Add' User permission in Default Role + 'Edit' Project permission in Project Role

User assignments can be done in several ways:

  • Add a bunch of existing or new Users to a single Project in the Project detailed view
  • Add a single User to a bunch of Projects in the User detailed view
  • Add a bunch of Users to a bunch of Projects in the Board view

People tab in the Project detailed view

To assign several Users to a single Project, use the Project detailed view. Open the Project detailed view by clicking the window icon next to the Project name in the Projects / Teams selector. invite

To add Project members, use the Assign people control on the People tab in the Project detailed view:
members.gif

If you have a long list of people or you need to assign non-existing users, it's faster to use the + Invite people link. Just start typing user names to assign existing users, or use complete email addresses to add new users to Targetprocess and the Project.

How to add a User to a Project

New users will receive an email with an invitation link to Targetprocess.

Projects & Teams tab in the User detailed view

To assign a particular User to several Projects, open the Projects & Teams tab of the User detailed view:

How to add a User to a Project. Image 4

People by Project board view

The fastest way to assign several Users to several Projects is to use a view showing Users as cards, with Projects as lanes.

Just create a view from the template named People by Project.

template-people-by-project

An alternative method to build such a view is to select User as a card and Project as a lane entity in view setup for this purpose.

user-project-board

In People by Project views, it is possible to re-arrange users with the drag-n-drop action. Edit User permission of Default Role is additionally required for this action.

By default, with drag-n-drop move, existing project membership assignments are not preserved.

It is possible to make new assignments while preserving existing ones. Do the following:

  1. Select cards of users to be assigned
  2. Expand Selected Cards area in the bottom of the Board view
  3. Drag and drop images of cards from this area instead of originally selected cards.

2018-02-26_12-18-01.gif

Default Role of a User is applied to new assignments.

Useful Filters

The following Filters for views can help you manage Users in Projects:

EntityFilter Meaning 
Project?not ProjectMembers.Where(User.LastName is 'Gray')Shows only Projects that don't list users with the last name 'Gray' in People list.
Project?ProjectMembers.Where(User.Role is 'Developer' or User.Role is 'QA Engineer' and User.CreateDate > '01-Feb-2018')Shows only Projects with users of 'Developer' or 'QA Engineer' Role created after '01/01/2018'.

Role in Project vs Role in Assignments

When you assign Users to work items such as User Stories, Bugs, and Tasks, it is possible to make an assignment under any available role. Assignment role affects responsibility calculations. Assignment role does not affect user permissions.

If the Assignments area lacks a role you need, you can learn how to add a Role to the Assignments area.

How to change Project roles for User

After a User is assigned to a Project, he can add, edit, and delete project work items according to his project Role.

ActionRequired Permissions (for non-Administrators)
Project Role change'Edit' Project permission in Project Role
User Project Allocation change'Edit' Project permission in Project Role

Role management can be provided in several ways:

  • Change Project Roles of a bunch of Users in the Project detailed view
  • Change a bunch of Project Roles of a single User in the User detailed view

Let's look at the last example. Open Projects & Teams tab of the User detailed view. Select required Role for each Project and Team from dropdowns.
How to change Project roles for User

How to unassign User from Project

To revoke access to Project work items, unassign the User from the Project.

ActionRequired Permissions (for non-Administrators)
Unassign User from Project'Edit' Project permission in Project Role

This can be done in several ways:

  • Unassign a bunch of Users from the Project in the Project detailed view
  • Unassign a single User from a bunch of Projects in the User detailed view

Let's look at the last example. Open the Projects & Teams tab of the User detailed view. Remove the person from the Project by clicking the Unassign button.

How to change Project roles for User

If a user loses membership in a Project, all existing personal assignments are preserved. Assigned work items become invisible for a user.

If a user loses membership in a Project, all Project Allocations for the user are deleted.

If a user is both Project and Team member, and a work item is assigned to both the Project and the Team, and you unassign the user from the Project, then the user still has access to the work item being a Team member.

Still have a question?

We're here to help! Just contact our friendly support team

Email us
The more details you can give us the better
Live chat
Prefer instant messaging? Try our live chat
Service Desk
Add tickets, comments and track status in our Helpdesk
Slack Community
Shape the future direction of Targetprocess

Find out more about our APIs, Plugins, Mashups and custom extensions. Join our community of passionate users and even discuss directly with our developers.

Get Started for free

Manage complex work, projects and products with Targetprocess

Enter your email
By clicking "Continue", you acknowledge and agree that we will process your personal data in accordance with our Service Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.

We’ve sent you a confirmation e-mail — please, go check it.

Live demo

With our product specialist Ksenia