Assign People to Teams, Manage Users as Team Members | Targetprocess - Visual management software

Assign People to Teams, Manage Users as Team Members

Targetprocess users receive access to work items through Projects and Teams. In this guide article for administrators and power users we describe how to manage Team membership.

After users are assigned to a Project or Team, they can add, edit, and delete work items according to their Project or Team role. More on this: Permissions for Access to Work Items.

This article describes:

  • how to add a User to a Team
  • how to change Team roles for a User
  • how to unassign a User from a Team

There are detailed recommendations on how to perform these actions effectively and what permissions are required.

How to add a User to a Team

User assigned to the Team will get access to all work items the Team is assigned to.

ActionRequired Permissions (for non-Administrators)
Assign existing User to Team'Edit' Team permission in Team Role

'Edit' User permission in Default Role is required additionally for drag-n-drop assignments made on board views

Add new User to Team'Add' User permission in Default Role + 'Edit' Team permission in Team Role

This can be done in several ways:

  • Add a bunch of existing or new Users to a single Team in the Team view
  • Add a single User to a bunch of Teams in the User detailed view
  • Add a bunch of Users to a bunch of Teams in the board view

People tab in the Team detailed view

To assign several Users to a single Team, use the Team detailed view. Open the Team detailed view by clicking the window icon next to the Team name in the Projects / Teams selector.

How to add a User to a Team

Now, on the People tab, select Users to assign and click the appropriate button in the Assign people section. Or, in the Invite people section, just start typing user names to assign existing users, or use complete email addresses to add new users to Targetprocess and to the Team.

How to add a User to a Team. Image 1

Projects & Teams tab in the User detailed view

To assign a particular User to several Teams, open the Projects & Teams tab of the User detailed view:

Assign People to Teams, Manage Users as Team Members. Image 3

People by Team Board view

The fastest way to assign several Users to several Teams is to use a view showing Users as cards, with Teams as lanes.

Just create a view from the template named People by Teams.

template-people-by-team

An alternative method to build such view is to select User as a card and Team as the lane entity in view setup.

user-team-board

In People by Team views, it is possible to rearrange Users with the drag-n-drop action. Edit User permission of Default Role is additionally required for this action.

By default, with drag-n-drop move, existing team membership assignments are not preserved.

It is possible to make new assignments while preserving existing ones. Do the following:

  1. Select cards of users to be assigned
  2. Expand the Selected Cards area in the bottom of the Board view
  3. Drag and drop images of cards from this area instead of the originally selected cards.

members.gif

Default Role of a user is applied to new assignments.

Role in Team vs Role in Assignments

When you assign Users to work items such as User Stories, Bugs, and Tasks, it is possible to make an assignment under any available role. Assignment role affects responsibility calculations. Assignment role does not affect user permissions.

If the Assignments area lacks a role you need, you can learn how to add a Role to the Assignments area.

How to change Team roles for User

After a User is assigned to a Team, he can add, edit, and delete team work items according to his team Role.

ActionRequired Permissions (for non-Administrators)
Team Role change'Edit' Team permission in Team Role

Role management can be provided in several ways:

  • Change Team Roles of a bunch of Users in the Team detailed view
  • Change a bunch of Team Roles of a single User in the User detailed view

Let's look at the last example. Open Projects & Teams tab of the User detailed view. Select required Role for each Project and Team from dropdowns.
How to change Team roles for User

How to unassign User from Team

To revoke access to Team work items, unassign the User from the Team.

ActionRequired Permissions (for non-Administrators)
Unassign User from Team'Edit' Team permission in Team Role

This can be done in several ways:

  • Unassign a bunch of Users from the Team in the Team detailed view
  • Unassign a single User from a bunch of Teams in the User detailed view

Let's look at the last example. Open the Projects & Teams tab of the User detailed view. Remove the person from the Team by clicking the Unassign button.

How to change Team roles for User

If a user loses membership in a Team, all existing personal assignments are preserved.  Assigned work items become invisible for a user.

If a user is both Project and Team member, and a work item is assigned to both the Project and the Team, and you unassign the user from the Team, then the user still has access to the work item being a Project member.

Still have a question?

We're here to help! Just contact our friendly support team

Email us
The more details you can give us the better
Live chat
Prefer instant messaging? Try our live chat
Service Desk
Add tickets, comments and track status in our Helpdesk
Slack Community
Shape the future direction of Targetprocess

Find out more about our APIs, Plugins, Mashups and custom extensions. Join our community of passionate users and even discuss directly with our developers.

Get Started for free

Manage complex work, projects and products with Targetprocess

Enter your email
By clicking "Continue", you acknowledge and agree that we will process your personal data in accordance with our Service Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.

We’ve sent you a confirmation e-mail — please, go check it.

Live demo

With our product specialist Ksenia