Assign Teams to Projects, Manage Teams in Projects | Targetprocess - Visual management software

Assign Teams to Projects, Manage Teams in Projects

Targetprocess users receive access to work items through Projects and Teams. In this guide article for administrators and power users we describe:

  • how to add a Team to a Project
  • how to unassign a Team from a Project

There are detailed recommendations on how to perform these actions effectively and what permissions are required.

How to add a Team to a Project

Once you assign a Team to a Project, all team members receive access to work items assigned to the Team, even without being Project members.

You can grant team members access to everything inside the Project by selecting Entire Project access. In this case, current and future team members will automatically be assigned to the Project.

How to add a Team to a Project
To give full Project access only to specific team members, choose Team work only and assign selected members to the Project individually. More on this: Assign People to Projects, Manage Users as Project Members.

More info on what Teams are and how to use them.

ActionRequired Permissions (for non-Administrators)
Assign existing Team to Project'Edit' Project permission in Project Role. Team membership is not required.
Change access mode for a Team assigned to a Project'Edit' Project permission in Project Role. Team membership is not required.
Add, edit, delete allocation of a Team to a Project'Edit' Project permission in Project Role. Team membership is not required.
Add new Team to Project'Add' Team permission in Default Role + 'Edit' Project permission in Project Role

The user who adds/assigns people to the team doesn't need to have the permissions to add users to corresponding Projects. The users are assigned automatically by Targetprocess.

Team assignments can be done in several ways:

  • Assign a bunch of Teams to a single Project in the Project detailed view
  • Assign a single Team to a bunch of Projects in the Team detailed view

Projects tab in the Team detailed view

To assign a particular Team to several Projects, open the Projects tab from the Team detailed view:

people5

Teams tab in the Project detailed view

To assign several Teams to a single Project, open the Teams tab of the Project detailed view:

How to add a Team to a Project. Image 1

In the New Team section, you can just start typing user names to assign existing users, or use complete email addresses to add new users to Targetprocess and to the Team.

How to add a Team to a Project. Image 2

New users receive an email with the invitation link to Targetprocess.

Project by Team board view

Create a board using the 'Projects by Teams' template and drag-n-drop Project cards to your Teams. By default, existing assignments are not preserved.

It is possible to make new assignments while preserving existing ones. Do the following:

  1. Select cards of projects to be assigned
  2. Expand Selected Cards area in the bottom of the Board view
  3. Drag and drop images of cards from this area instead of originally selected cards.

members.gif

In case of drag-n-drop Team will get default team members access selected in Settings → General Settings.

How to unassign Team from Project

To remove access to Project work items from a Team, unassign the Team from the Project.

When you unassign a Team from a Project, any work items in the project are unassigned from the team as well. Personal assignments are preserved.

ActionRequired Permissions (for non-Administrators)
Unassign Team from Project'Delete' Team permission in Default Role + 'Edit' Project permission in Project Role

This can be done in several ways:

  • Unassign a bunch of Teams from the Project in the Project detailed view
  • Unassign a single Team from a bunch of Projects in the Team detailed view

Projects tab in the Team detailed view

To unassign a particular Team from several Projects, open Projects tab of the Team detailed view:
people8

Teams tab in the Project detailed view

To unassign several Teams from a single Project, use Teams tab of the Project detailed view:
How to unassign Team from Project

Once you unassign team with Entire Project access from a project, team members are removed from the project as well. Personal assignments are preserved. Assigned work items become invisible for the team members.

Once you unassign team with Team work only access from a project: if a user is both Project and Team member, and a work item is assigned to both the Project and the Team, and you unassign the Team from the Project, then the user still has access to the work item being a Project member.

Still have a question?

We're here to help! Just contact our friendly support team

Find out more about our APIs, Plugins, Mashups and custom extensions. Join our community of passionate users and even discuss directly with our developers.

Get Started for free

Enter your email
By clicking "Continue", you acknowledge that we will process your Personal Data in accordance with our Service Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, and agree to the aforementioned documents.

We’ve sent you a confirmation e-mail — please, go check it.

Or get a live
product demo