Roles and Permissions | Targetprocess - Visual management software

Roles and Permissions

Permissions for users to add, edit, and delete entities in Targetprocess are managed on a per-role basis.

Each user has a default (system) role, plus a specific role for each particular project or team they are a member of. Roles for a user may vary between projects and teams. List of Roles and settings of permissions in the system is global.

How to configure Roles

List of Roles

Navigate SettingsRoles menu item to see list of all Roles added to the system.

Only Administrators are authorized to modify permissions of Roles, create new Roles and delete Roles from the system.

Settings and permissions for any role can be modified within Edit links. The Add link creates a new Role and Del link removes a Role from the system completely.

List of Roles

These settings affect all users, projects, and processes in your Targetprocess system. Be extremely careful when making modifications to existing Roles. Deactivation of the Has Effort setting for a Role and deletion of a Role may cause massive loss of data.

Settings and Permissions of a Role

This screen is displayed when you Add a new Role or Edit an existing Role. Make your selection and press Save button to apply it to the Role.

Here you can view and change the permissions for the add, edit and delete actions for specific entities.

permissions

There is no way to restrict view visibility by Role. For example, if Jonny D. has access to project DM he is able to view any entities in this Project, including User Stories, Bugs, Comments, Attachments, Time records, regardless of the permissions his Role has.

Besides roles, permissions for users to view, add, edit and delete entities in Targetprocess are granted according to multiple different settings. More information: Permissions for work items.

There are a few more permissions related to specific actions:

A role can be renamed using this settings page as well.

Add Role to Assignments

When you add a Role to the system it does not appear as an available option in the Assignments section of work items automatically. Instead you have to modify workflow settings for each entity type and in each process where you want to add the Role. Use the guide below:

Introduce modified Role for a specific subset of users

If you need to change permissions for a specific subset of users, we recommend doing it step-by-step:

  1. Create a new Role with the permissions specific to this group
  2. Edit personal settings for each user. Modify Default role and Project / Team membership role if needed

More information: How to select a Role for a User in a Project or Team.

Default Role for New Users

All Targetprocess users always have a Default Role selected. By default, if none is explicitly selected, first Role from the list of available ones is set as Default Role for all newly created users.

Roles and custom Terms

Your current projects and teams selection influence the terms displayed. Should you have a project with customized names specified, you will see these new names on the screen instead of the defaults.

In the screenshot below Bugs are renamed to Defects and Iterations are renamed to Sprints.

Roles and custom Terms

See also

Still have a question?

We're here to help! Just contact our friendly support team

Find out more about our APIs, Plugins, Mashups and custom extensions. Join our community of passionate users and even discuss directly with our developers.